Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Grant County

Grant County


Grant County is named for Ulysses Simpson Grant ( 1822-1885 ),  who was president of the United States, from 1869 to 1877.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Roberts County

E – Big Stone County, Minnesota and Lac Qui Parle County, Minnesota

S – Deuel County and Codington County

W – Codington County and Day County 


Created:  January 8, 1873                      Map of South Dakota highlighting Grant County

County Seat:

Inkpa City  1878 – 1881

Milbank      1881 – present


County Courthouse – Milbank


Location:  210 East 5th Avenue / Main Street

Built:  1917 – 1918

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Charles E Bell

Contractor:  J B Evans Construction Company of Mexico, Missouri


Description: The building faces north and is a three story gray stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Milbank and is constructed of concrete, limestone, asphalt and copper. The north front has six columns rising from the second story to the top of the third story. The east and west wings project and have pediments at the roof line. A balustrade runs along the roof line. In the center is a gold colored dome. Stone columns rise from the second to third stories. In the interior, the large County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the east side of the third story. The room is wainscoted with wood paneling. Coupled, fluted pilasters rise from the wainscoting around the room. The pilasters are topped with thin Ionic order capitals carrying a geometric design. Between the pilasters (above the wainscoting) are three framed, stenciled panels. These are topped with a single, framed rectangular panel. Above the judge fs bench is a mural of three classically attired women. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 3rd Judicial Circuit and the County Magistrate Court 


See:  The architect Charles E Bell of Minneapolis, Minnesota designed many courthouses.


See:  The 3rd Judicial Circuit includes Beadle CountyBrookings CountyClark CountyCodington CountyDeuel County, Hamlin CountyHand CountyJerauld County, Kingsbury County, Lake CountyMiner CountyMoody County and Sanborn County.  


History:  The county was created in 1873 and Inkpa City was selected as the county seat in 1878 when the county was organized. The first courthouse was erected in Inkpa City ( Big Stone ) after 1878. The courthouse burned in 1881 and the county seat was moved to Milbank. The second courthouse was built. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1917 to 1918.



County Courthouse – Milbank







































County Circuit Court courtroom

















Photos taken 2007, 2016 and 2018