Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Roberts County

Roberts County


Roberts County is named for S G Roberts, who was a territorial legislator.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Richland County, North Dakota

E – Traverse County, Minnesota and Big Stone County, Minnesota

S – Grant County

W – Day County and Marshall County


Created:  March 8, 1883                         Map of South Dakota highlighting Roberts County

County Seat:                

Travare   1883 – 1885

Wilmot    1885 – 1900

Sisseton  1900 – present


County Courthouse – Sisseton


Location:  411 2nd Avenue East / Maple Street East

Built:  1902 – 1903

Style:  Renaissance

Architect:  Buechner & Jacobsen of St. Paul, Minnesota

Contractor:  Fred C Norlander of St. Paul, Minnesota


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story red colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds at the highest point in Sisseton. The west front has a one story covered entrance portico which projects from the main building. Above the entrance is a large arched window and two circular windows encased in carved stone wreaths. All of the windows are rectangular with keystones. On the center of the roof is an octagonal dome covered with terneplate and with silver colored roof. In the interior is a rotunda under the dome. The County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 5th Judicial Circuit and the County Magistrate Court. The rotunda and wall decorations were restored in 1988. On the east side is two story County Courthouse Annex.


See:  The architect Buechner & Jacobsen ( Buechner & Orth  ) of St. Paul, Minnesota designed many courthouses.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Roberts County Courthouse


Note:  The 1884 election was taken to court and was decided in favor of Travare. As was common in the West, Wilmot proponents gathered arms to steal the county seat from Travare while it was celebrating the victory. The county records were loaded into a sleigh at the back door and taken to Wilmot, where new officials were elected.


See:  The 5th Judicial Circuit includes Brown CountyCampbell County, Day County, Edmunds CountyFaulk CountyMarshall County, McPherson CountySpink County and Walworth County.

History:  The county was created in 1883 and Travare was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a frame structure built in 1884. In 1885, the county seat was moved to Wilmot and the courthouse was moved as well to the new location in Wilmot. The county seat was moved to Sisseton in 1900. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1902 to 1903 at a cost of $43,994.84.


Note:  The lowest point in South Dakota is the Big Stone Lake at 965 feet ( 294 meters ) which is located in the county.



County Courthouse – Sisseton

























County Circuit Court courtroom

















County Courthouse Annex – Sisseton



County Courthouse view west

Photos taken 2007 and 2018