Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Day County

Day County


Day County is named for Merritt H Day, who was a pioneer and 1879 legislator.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Marshall County

E – Roberts County and Grant County

S – Codington County and Clark County

W – Spink County and Brown County


Created:  October 1, 1879                      Map of South Dakota highlighting Day County

County Seat:

Webster  1885 – present

County Courthouse – Webster


Location:  710 West 1st Street / West 7th Avenue

Built:  1963 – 1964

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Herges, Kichgasler & Associates of Aberdeen

Contractor:  Schull Construction Company of Watertown


Description:  The building faces east and is one story concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Webster. The east front has a glass door entrance with extended roof along the building with green colored stone trim. A large black colored stone panel sits to the north of the entrance. The northwest section of the building rises slightly. The roof line is flat. The interior halls have colored tiles on the lower half. The basement has a large meeting room. The northwest corner of the building has long vertical windows for the County Circuit Court courtroom which is located on the first story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 5th Judicial Circuit and the County Magistrate Court.


See:  The 5th Judicial Circuit includes Brown CountyCampbell County, Edmunds CountyFaulk CountyMarshall County, McPherson CountyRoberts County, Spink County and Walworth County.


History:  The county was created in 1879 and Webster was selected as the county seat in 1885 when the county was organized. The first courthouse was started in 1883 in Webster on the condition that Webster would be the county seat. The courthouse was not completed until 1893. The second courthouse was designed by Kinney & Detweiler and constructed by Fred Gross Construction in 1903. The building was destroyed by fire in 1963. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1963 to 1964



County Courthouse – Webster























County Circuit Court courtroom















Cornerstone 1903 Courthouse



Picture 1903 County Courthouse

Photos taken 2006, 2009 and 2018