Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Edmunds County

Edmunds County


Edmunds County is named for Newton Edmunds, who was the  second Dakota Territorial Governor from 1863 to 1866.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – McPherson County

E – Brown County

S – Faulk County and Potter County

W – Walworth County


Created:  January 8, 1873                      Map of South Dakota highlighting Edmunds County

County Seat:

Ipswich  1883 – present


County Courthouse – Ipswich


Location:  210 2nd Street / 3rd Avenue East

Built:  1933 – 1935

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Roland R Wilcken

Contractor:  Gray Construction Company of Watertown


Description:  The building faces south and is a stately three story light tan colored brick, Bedford stone and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds to the east of the center of Ipswich. The building has vertical white colored stone pilasters along the edges and around the main entrances. On the south and north sides the center section projects from the main building. A white colored belt runs along the flat roof line. The third and second levels have five window openings with a basket-weave brick pattern below. The interior includes pink colored Tennessee marble and a wide staircase which ascends to the third story. The County Circuit Court courtroom is located along the south side of the third story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 5th Judicial Circuit and the County Magistrate Court. 


See:  The contractor, Gray Construction Company of Watertown also constructed courthouses in Clark CountyCodington CountyDouglas County, Faulk CountyHamlin County, Hyde CountySully County and Walworth County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Edmunds County Courthouse


See:  The 5th Judicial Circuit includes Brown CountyCampbell County, Day County, Faulk CountyMarshall County, McPherson CountyRoberts County, Spink County and Walworth County.


History:  The county was created in 1873 and organized in 1883 with the county seat at Ipswich. The first courthouse was a small stone and brick structure built in 1883. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1933 to 1935.



County Courthouse – Ipswich  

















County Circuit Court courtroom







Photos taken 2007, 2016 and 2024