Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Potter County

Potter County


Potter County is named for Dr. Joel Potter, who was a Yankton legislator in 1877 and a long time steward at the State Hospital at Yankton.       


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Walworth County and Edmunds County

E – Faulk County 

S – Hyde County and Sully County

W – Dewey County


Created:  January 8, 1873                      Map of South Dakota highlighting Potter County

County Seat:                

Forrest City  1883 – 1885

Gettysburg   1885 – present


County Courthouse – Gettysburg


Location:  201 South Exene Street / West Lincoln Avenue

Built:  1910 – 1911

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Black Hills Company of Deadwood ( J P Eisentraut )

Contractor:  Mencier & Stolte of Redfield


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story gray colored stone and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious grounds in the center of Gettysburg. The first story is a light colored sandstone. The first story of the courthouse serves visually as a podium upon which the upper two stories rest; it is faced with cut sandstone panels typically measuring 10 by 32 inches. On each side of the building, the center section projects from the main building with a Greek style roof. Around the roof is a solid stone balustrade. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the floors in hallways and other public areas are surfaced with white colored tile and black colored tiles placed in a repeating diamond pattern accentuate the floors, and the floor edges include black colored tiles in a simple labyrinth pattern. Interior doors are paneled wood with half-light glazing, and are beneath transoms. The large County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the third story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 6th Judicial Circuit and the County Magistrate Court. 


See:  National Register of Historic Places –  Potter County Courthouse


See:  The 6th Judicial Circuit includes Bennett CountyGregory County, Haakon CountyHughes CountyHyde County, Jackson CountyJones County, Lyman CountyMellette CountyStanley CountySully County, Todd County and Tripp County


History:  The county was created in 1873 as Ashmore County until 1877. Forrest City was selected as the county seat when the county was organized in 1883. The first meeting of commissioners in 1883 was held in Forrest City. The county seat was moved to Gettysburg in 1884. The first courthouse was a two story frame structure erected in 1888. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1910 to 1911.



County Courthouse – Gettysburg


























County Circuit Court courtroom





Photos taken 2006, 2010 and 2015