Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Mellette County

Mellette County


Mellette County is named for Arthur C Mellette, who was the first Governor of South Dakota from 1889 to 1893.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Jackson County, Jones County and Lyman County

E – Tripp County

S – Todd County

W – Jackson County


Created :  June 3, 1909                          Map of South Dakota highlighting Mellette County

County Seat :                

White River  1911 – present


County Courthouse – White River


Location:  321 East 4th Street / McKinley Street

Built:  1964 – 1965

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Flahart, Dittman & Hegel Engineers & Architects Inc. of Rapid City

Contractor:  Rider Construction of Gordon, Nebraska


Description:  The building faces south and is a one story reddish-orange colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of White River. The south front has a recessed entrance in the center. A wide concrete band runs below the roof line with narrow horizontal windows beneath. In the interior, the County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the ground story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 6th Judicial Circuit and the County Magistrate Court. The basement was constructed in 1975.


See:  The 6th Judicial Circuit includes Bennett CountyGregory County, Haakon CountyHughes CountyHyde County, Jackson CountyJones County, Lyman CountyPotter County, Stanley CountySully County, Todd County and Tripp County


History:  The county was created in 1909 and White River was selected as the county seat in 1911 when the county was organized. The first courthouse was a one story frame structure built in 1907 by Townsend Brothers. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1964 to 1965.



County Courthouse = White River









County Circuit Court courtroom



Commissioner Minutes



Photos taken 2009 and 2010