Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Bennett County

Bennett County


Bennett County is named for John E Bennett, a Judge of the Supreme Court and for Granville G Bennett, a Dakota Territory judge.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Jackson County

E – Mellette County and Todd County

S – Cherry County, Nebraska

W – Shannon County 


Created:  June 3, 1909                           Map of South Dakota highlighting Bennett County

County Seat: 

Martin  1912 – present


County Courthouse – Martin


Location:  202 Main Street / 2nd Avenue

Built:  1967 – 1968

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Dana Larson Roubal & Associates

Contractor:   Ryder Construction


Description:  The building faces east and is a one story red colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Martin. The east front has a glass entrance in the center. There are entrances on the south and north sides of the building. There are a few verical narrow windows in the building. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the County Circuit Court courtroom is located in the center of the building. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 6th Judicial Circuit and the County Magistrate Court.


See:  The 6th Judicial Circuit includes Gregory County, Haakon CountyHughes CountyHyde County, Jackson CountyJones County, Lyman CountyMellette CountyPotter County, Stanley CountySully County, Todd County and Tripp County


History:  The county was created in 1909 and Martin was selected as the county seat in 1912 after the county was organized in 1911. The first courthouse in 1912 was a two story frame structure. An addition was built in 1933. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1967 to 1968.



County Courthouse – Martin









Photos taken 2006 and 2009