Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Jackson County

Jackson County


Jackson County is named for J R Jackson of Minnehaha County, who was a legislator in 1883.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Haakon County

E – Jones County and Mellette County

S – Bennett County

W – Shannon County and Pennington County


Created:   March 8, 1883                        Map of South Dakota highlighting Jackson County

County Seat:

Kadoka  1914 – present


County Courthouse – Kadoka


Location:  1 South Main Street / Maple Street

Built:   1975 – 1976

Style:  Prairie

Architect:   Keith Brakke

Contractor:  Hogen’s Hardware


Description:  The building faces west and is a one story brown-yellow colored stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Kadoka. On the south side is a lower wing. On the west side is a small portico at the entrance. In the interior is the County Circuit Court courtroom. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 6th Judicial Circuit and the County Magistrate Court.


See:  The 6th Judicial Circuit includes Bennett CountyGregory County, Haakon CountyHughes CountyHyde County, Jones County, Lyman CountyMellette CountyPotter County, Stanley CountySully County, Todd County and Tripp County


History:  The county was created in 1883 and Kadoka was selected as the county seat in 1914 when the county was organized.  The first courthouse was a wooden structure built in 1916. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1975 to 1976.



County Courthouse – Kadoka













County Circuit Court courtroom



Photos taken 2006 and 2010