Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Lyman County

Lyman County


Lyman County is named for Major P W Lyman, who was the first settler of Yankton County and territorial legislator in 1873.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Stanley CountyHughes County and Hyde County

E – Buffalo County and Brule County

S – Gregory CountyTripp County and Mellette County

W – Jones County


Created:  January 8, 1873                      Map of South Dakota highlighting Lyman County

County Seat:

Oacoma    1893 – 1922

Kennebec  1922 – present


County Courthouse – Kennebec


Location:  300 South Main Street / 2nd Street

Built:  1925 – 1926

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Chynoweth, Rettinghouse, Perkins & McWayne of Sioux Falls

Contractor:  H P Little


Description:  The building faces north and is a stately rectangular three story cream colored stone, buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Kennebec. On the north front there is a projecting center section with cream colored stone trim with small balustrade rails on the second story and arched windows on third story. There is a projecting cornice running below the flat roof line. In the interior, the County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the southside of the third story. The windows was remodeled in 1985 and renovations were done in 1993.


See:  The 6th Judicial Circuit includes Bennett CountyGregory County, Haakon CountyHughes CountyHyde County, Jackson CountyJones County, Lyman CountyMellette CountyPotter County, Stanley CountySully County, Todd County and Tripp County


History:  The county was created in 1873 and Oacoma was selected as the county seat in 1893 when the county was organized. The first courthouse was built in Oacoma in 1894. The courthouse burned. The county seat was moved to Kennebec in 1922. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1925 to 1926.



County Courthouse – Kennebec













County Circuit Court courtroom



Commissioner Minutes – Contractor

Pictures taken 2007, 2010 and 2011