Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Tripp County

Tripp County


Tripp County is named for the Honorable Bartlett Tripp, who was a judge of the territorial court and chairman of the first constitutional convention.         


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Lyman County

E – Lyman County and Gregory County

S – Keya Paha County, Nebraska

W – Todd County and Mellette County


Created:  January 8, 1873                      Map of South Dakota highlighting Tripp County

County Seat:                

Lamro   1909 – 1910

Winner  1910 – present


County Courthouse – Winner


Location:  200 East 3rd Street / Madison Street

Built:  1920 – 1921

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  P P Lewis

Contractor:  Western Construction Company


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Winner. The south front has six white colored columns rising to the top of the second story with a wide white header and cornice above. The entrance has a small pediment above the doorway. The building has a stone foundation. The roof line is sloped with white trim below. In the interior, the County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the north side of the third story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 6th Judicial Circuit and the County Magistrate Court. 


Note:  Todd County uses the Tripp County Courthouse


See:  The 6th Judicial Circuit includes Bennett CountyGregory County, Haakon CountyHughes CountyHyde County, Jackson CountyJones County, Lyman CountyMellette CountyPotter County, Stanley CountySully County and Todd County. 


History:  The county was created in 1873 and Lamro was selected as the county seat in 1909 when the county was organized. The first courthouse was built in 1909 and was moved to Winner in 1910 when the county seat was moved. The courthouse burned in 1911. The county rented premises until the second and present courthouse was constructed in 1920 to 1921.



County Courthouse – Winner













County Circuit Court courtroom









Photos taken 2007 and 2016