Skip to content
Home » US States » N » Nebraska » Keya Paha County

Keya Paha County

Keya Paha County is named for the Dakota name of a hill and the river was named from that hill, “ke-ya” meaning “turtle” and “Pa-ha” meaning “hill”. The river was called “wa-kpa” or “Turtle Hill River”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Tripp County, South Dakota and Gregory County, South Dakota

E – Boyd County

S – Rock County and Brown County

W – Cherry County


Created:  November 4, 1884                  Map of Nebraska highlighting Keya Paha County

County Seat:

Springview  1885 – present


County Courthouse – Springview  


Location:  L Street ( north side ) / 12th Street

Built:  1914 – 1915

Style:  Federal

Architect:  O E Shipley

Contractor:  O E Shipley


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story white colored stucco structure. The main entrance is located on the south side. The arched entrance is recessed with a roof at the top of the first story. Arches frame the tops of the first story windows. The base is white colored stone. The roof is flat. The building is located on spacious grounds.


See:  The 8th Judicial District includes Blaine CountyBoyd County, Brown CountyCherry County, Custer CountyGarfield CountyGreeley CountyHolt CountyHoward County, Loup CountyRock County, Sherman CountyValley County and Wheeler County.


History:  The county was created in 1884 and Springview was selected as the county seat in 1885. The county offices met at the residence of David Heigs until the first courthouse was built in 1886 at a cost of $1,126. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1914 to 1915 at a cost of $55,000.



County Courthouse – Springview

















Photos taken 2006, 2007 and 2016