Skip to content
Home » US States » N » Nebraska » Sherman County

Sherman County


Sherman County is named for William Tecumseh Sherman, who was a general in the American Civil War and who lived from 1820 to 1891.


Surounding County Courthouses: 

N – Valley County

E – Howard County

S – Buffalo County

W – Custer County


Created:  March 1, 1871                         Map of Nebraska highlighting Sherman County

County Seat:

Loup City  1873 – present


County Courthouse – Loup City  


Location:  603 O Street / South 6th Street

Built:  1920 – 1921

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  Henningson Engineering Company of Omaha

Contractor:  John Ohlsen & Sons of Loup City


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Loup City. The south front has four large white colored columns rising to a wide decorated frieze at the roof line. The entrance is framed with white colored stone and above is a large arched window on the second story. White terra cotta trim contrasts well with red and tan brick of the wall surface. Terra cotta is used for simple decorative courses and at the corners, second story continuous sills, and the prominent centered entry pavilion. The material is also used for coping and for panels spaced regularly along the parapet. And finely decorated round-arched window surrounds on all sides of the first story are decorated with foliated designs, urns, and delicate Adamesque swags, all also in terra cotta. Narrow rectangular windows are recessed and paired above these round-arched windows. Fluted paired columns and a cornice having mutules and parapet above further call attention to the pavilion on the principal or south facade. The windows on the first story are trimmed with white colored stone. Horizontal bands of white colored stone run below the first story windows and below and above the second story windows. The roof line is flat. In the interior are a variety of materials which adorn the building: white veined marble for wainscoting and banisters, light grey marble steps, hexagonal floor tile in black and white, and simple moulded plaster pilasters in the halls. The combined County District Court and County Court courtroom runs along the north facade on the second story. The courtroom has attractive dark woodwork, fluted pilasters, wainscoting, heavy beams, a cornice, windows with amber-colored glass squares, and bell-shaped wall lights at the judge’s bench. The building houses the County District Court and County Court of the 8th Judicial District. 


See:  The 8th Judicial District includes Blaine CountyBoyd County, Brown CountyCherry County, Custer CountyGarfield CountyGreeley CountyHolt CountyHoward County, Keya Paha County, Loup CountyRock County, Valley County and Wheeler County.


History:  The county was created in 1871 and Loup City was selected as the county seat in 1873 when the county was organized. The first courthouse was built in 1874 by Martin W Benschoter and Frank Ingram. At a cost of $5,000. The courthouse burned down the day it was completed. The second courthouse was built in 1878 by John W Harkins. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1920 to 1921 at a cost of $75,000.  R D Hendrickson and J H Lee demolished the second courthouse with John Ohlsen buying the brick.



County Courthouse – Loup City

























County District Court and County Court courtroom

















Photos taken 2006, 2010 and 2023