Skip to content
Home » US States » N » Nebraska » Wheeler County

Wheeler County

Wheeler County is named for a Daniel H Wheeler, who was secretary of the Nebraska State Board of Agriculture.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Holt County

E – Antelope County and Boone County

S – Greeley County

W – Garfield County

Created:  February 17, 1877                  Map of Nebraska highlighting Wheeler County

County Seat:

Cedar City  1881 – 1886

Bartlett        1886 – present


County Courthouse –  Bartlett 


Location:  301 3rd Street / Main Street

Built:  1980 – 1982

Style:   Modern

Architect:  Ed Cable

Contractor:  Radec Construction Company of Hartington


Description:  The building faces north and is a one white colored polished stone and concrete structure. The east side of the building is dug into the slope of the hill in the center of Bartlett. There are doorways at the north and south sides. The roof line is flat. The small County District Court courtroom is located along the east side. The building houses the County District Court and County Court of the 8th Judicial District.


Old County Courthouse –  Bartlett 



Location:  SE – Main Street /  3rd Street

Built:  1918 – 1919

Style:   Mission Revival / Classical

Architect:  Sidney H Foster of Gordon

Contractor:  Local trades


Description:  The building faces north and is a two buff-white colored stucco and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building sits on a hill on landscaped grounds overlooking the downtown area of Bartlett to the north with the courthouse on the west side. The north front has a central entrance on the first story with canopy and above on the second story is a Palladian window. The roof is hipped. Interior elements are simple and unaltered. Wood chair rails, baseboards, floors, window frames, plain newels, and doors without transoms are executed simply. The former district courtroom is on the second floor, and it spans the length of the south facade. The architect was Sidney H Foster of Gordon and the contractor was local labor. The building is now the Wheeler County Museum.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Old Wheeler County Courthouse


See:  The 8th Judicial District includes Blaine CountyBoyd County, Brown CountyCherry County, Custer CountyGarfield CountyGreeley CountyHolt CountyHoward County, Keya Paha County, Loup CountyRock County, Sherman County and Valley County.


History:  The county was created in 1877 and Cedar City was selected as the county seat in 1881 when the county was organized. The county seat was moved to Bartlett in 1886 and the first courthouse, a two story wood frame structure was built in 1888 on the Courthouse Square. The courthouse was destroyed by fire on August 29, 1917. Funds were obtained from insurance plus $6500 to construct the 1918 courthouse. The second courthouse was constructed in 1917 to 1918 and is still standing. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1980 to 1981 at a cost of $237,000.



County Courthouse – Bartlett













County District Court courtroom



Commissioner Minutes 1980





Old County Courthouse – Bartlett







Photos taken 2010