Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Gregory County

Gregory County


Gregory County is named for John Shaw Gregory of Fort Randall, who was a legislator in 1862.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Lyman County and Charles Mix County

E – Charles Mix County

S – Boyd County, Nebraska and Keya Paha County, Nebraska

W – Tripp County


Created:  May 8, 1862                            Map of South Dakota highlighting Gregory County

County Seat:

Fairfax  1898 – 1916

Burke    1916 – present


County Courthouse – Burke


Location:  221 East 8th Street / Washington Street

Built:  1934 – 1935

Style:  Art Deco and Prairie

Architect:  Walter J Dixon of Mitchell

Contractor:  Henry Carlson Construction of Sioux Falls


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the Burke. The windows are framed with stone trim. On the north front, there is an enclosed portico extending from the building. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the east side of the third story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 6th Judicial Circuit and the County Magistrate Court. The building was damaged by a tornado on August 6, 2019.


See:  The 6th Judicial Circuit includes Bennett CountyHaakon CountyHughes CountyHyde County, Jackson CountyJones County, Lyman CountyMellette CountyPotter County, Stanley CountySully County, Todd County and Tripp County


History:  The county was created in 1862 and Fairfax was selected as the county seat in 1898 when the county was organized. The first courthouse was a one story frame structure. The county seat was moved to Burke in 1916 and the courthouse was moved to the new location in Burke. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1934 to 1935.



County Courthouse – Burke















County Circuit Court courtroom







Photos taken 2006 and 2016