Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Jones County

Jones County


Jones County is named for the original settlers who came from Jones County in Iowa.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Stanley County

E – Lyman County 

S – Mellette County

W – Jackson County and Haakon County


Created:  January 15, 1917                    Map of South Dakota highlighting Jones County

County Seat:

Murdo  1917 – present


County Courthouse – Murdo


Location:  310 Main Street / East 3rd Street

Built:  1976 – 1977

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Ward Whitwam of Sioux Falls

Contractor:  Harvey Wald of Pierre


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds and sits on the side of a slope in the center of Murdo. The west front has a central recessed entrance. Blue-grey colored concrete divides the windows on the second story. The roof line is flat. In the interior the County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the east side of the first story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 6th Judicial Circuit and the County Magistrate Court.


See:  The 6th Judicial Circuit includes Bennett CountyGregory County, Haakon CountyHughes CountyHyde County, Jackson CountyJones County, Lyman CountyMellette CountyPotter County, Stanley CountySully County, Todd County and Tripp County


History:  The county was created in 1917 and Murdo was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story frame structure built in 1917. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1976 to 1977.



County Courthouse – Murdo







County Circuit Court courtroom





Commissioner Minutes – contractor

Photos taken 2009 and 2010