Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Sully County

Sully County


Sully County is named for General Alfred Sully, who was the builder of Fort Sully.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Dewey County and Potter County

E – Hyde County

S – Hughes County

W – Stanley County and Dewey County 


Created:   January 8, 1873                     Map of South Dakota highlighting Sully County

County Seat:

Clffton  1883 – 1884

Onida   1884 – present


County Courthouse – Onida


Location:  700 Ash Avenue / 7th Street

Built:  1912 – 1913

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  Black Hills Company of Deadwood ( W M Rich )

Contractor:  Gray Construction Company of Watertown


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story gray colored stone and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Onida. The building has a raised basement. The main façade also features a portico front with a pediment and entablature. “Sully County 1911” is located in the center of the pediment. Two round Ionic columns with capitals and two square Tuscan columns with capitals on the corner support the pediment. A belt course separates the first and second stories. An entablature spans the building with a dentil molding, providing a transition between entablature and cornice. The first story of stone is laid out in a rusticated pattern. On the center of the roof is an open dome with black colored roof and fore-faced clock. Around the roof is a stone balustrade. In the interior, a stairway extends to each floor with a wrought iron balustrade. The County Circuit Court  courtroom is located on the east side of the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 6th Judicial Circuit and the County Magistrate Court. 


See:  The contractor,  Gray Construction Company of Watertown also constructed courthouses in Clark CountyCodington CountyDouglas County, Edmunds County, Faulk CountyHamlin County, Hyde County and Walworth County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Sully County Courthouse


See:  The 6th Judicial Circuit includes Bennett CountyGregory County, Haakon CountyHughes CountyHyde County, Jackson CountyJones County, Lyman CountyMellette CountyPotter County, Stanley CountyTodd County and Tripp County


History:  The county was created in 1873 and the first county seat was Clifton selected in 1883 when the county was organized. The county seat was moved to Onida in 1884 and the first courthouse was erected. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1912 to 1913.



County Courthouse – Onida

























County Circuit Court courtroom





Photos taken 2006, 2010 and 2015