Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Dewey County

Dewey County


Dewey County is named for W P Dewey, who was a pioneer in the region.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Corson County

E – Walworth CountyPotter County and Sully County

S – Sully CountyStanley County and Ziebach County

W – Ziebach County


Created:  January 8, 1883                      Map of South Dakota highlighting Dewey County

County Seat:

Timber Lake  1910 – present


County Courthouse – Timber Lake


Location:  710 C Street / 8th Street

Built:   1959 – 1960

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Marion E Smith

Contractor:  Hughes-Johnson Company Inc.


Description:  The building faces west and is a one story light buff colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Timber Lake. The west front has a small canopy over the entrance supported by two brick supports. The east side has a rectangular north-south section. The roof is hipped with a wide overhang. In the interior, the hallway runs east-west and has a brown colored bottom section. The County Circuit Court courtroom is located at the northeast corner.  The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 4th Judicial District and the County Magistrate Court.


See:  The 4th Judicial Circuit includes Butte CountyCorson County, Harding CountyLawrence CountyMeade CountyPerkins County and Ziebrach County.


History: Although created in 1883, the county was not organized until 1910 and Timber Lake was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was the old two story wood frame Land Office building in Timber Lake built in 1911 and which was used as the county office and became the courthouse in 1922. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1959 to 1960.



County Courthouse – Timber Lake 













County Circuit Court courtroom

















Photos taken 2006, 2010 , 2013 and 2023