Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Butte County

Butte County

Butte County is named for the many buttes characteristic of the region.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Harding County

E – Perkins County and Meade County

S – Meade County and Lawrence County

W – Crook County, Wyoming and Carter County, Montana 


Created:  May 6, 1883                            Map of South Dakota highlighting Butte County

County Seat:

Minnesela         1883 – 1895

Belle Fourche   1895 – present


County Courthouse – Belle Fourche


Location:  839 South 5th Avenue / Indian Street

Built:  1911 – 1912

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  Charles A  Randall

Contractor:  Phillips & Bartlett


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure.. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Belle Fourche. The west front has a Greek portico supported by four large stone columns with pediment above and statue of Justice at the top. On the second story is a large arched window. On the first story are small arched windows. On the center of the roof is an octagonal cupola with red roof. The first floor has a small rectangular entryway with a four lamp, brass and glass chandelier. In the interior, the wooden staircase leading to the second story is accented with iron grillwork with a grape leaf design. The County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the east side of the second story and has been modified with the sound proof paneling but much of the original furniture is utilized to this day. The flooring is mainly cherry, oak and pine but has been carpeted. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 4th Judicial Circuit and the County Magistrates Court. On the east side is the old County Jail constructed in 1901 to 1902 of locally quarried stone.


See:  The architect, Charles A Randall, also designed the courthouse in Wyoming in Weston County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Butte County Courthouse


See:  The 4th Judicial Circuit includes Corson County, Dewey CountyHarding CountyLawrence CountyMeade CountyPerkins County and Ziebrach County.


History:  The county was created in 1883 and Minnesela was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a rented premises in Minnesela in 1883. The county seat was moved to Belle Fourche in 1895 and the second courthouse which was a wood frame structure, was built. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1911 to 1912 at a cost of $26,424.51.



County Courthouse – Belle Fourche 























Commissioner’s Meeting Room 







County Circuit Court courtroom

















Picture 1893 County Courthouse







Old County Jail – Belle Fourche 

Photos taken 2007, 2013 and 2023