Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Harding County

Harding County


Harding County is named for J A Harding, who was a legislator in 1881.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Bownman County, North Dakota and Adams County, North Dakota

E – Perkins County

S – Butte County 

W – Carter County, Montana and Fallon County, Montana


Created:   March 3, 1881                        Map of South Dakota highlighting Harding County

County Seat:

Buffalo  1910 – present


County Courthouse – Buffalo


Location:  410 Rams Land Street / 5th Street

Built:  1996 – 1997

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Hulsing & Associates

Contractor:  Professional Constructors Inc.


Description:  The building faces south and is a one story light red colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Buffalo. The center section has brick supports with recessed glass walls. The upper part is pink and white color. The west section is red colored brick and concrete. In the interior, there is a long foyer along the south side. The County circuit Court courtroom is located at the southwest side in the higher west section. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 4th Judicial Circuit and the County Magistrates Court.


See:  The 4th Judicial Circuit includes Butte CountyCorson County, Dewey CountyLawrence CountyMeade CountyPerkins County and Ziebrach County.


History:  The county was created in 1881 and was organized in 1909 with Buffalo as the county seat in 1910. The first courthouse was a two story wood frame structure built in 1911. The courthouse was demolished and the second and present courthouse was constructed in 1996 to 1997.



County Courthouse – Buffalo























County Circuit Court courtroom













Picture 1911 County Courthouse



Photos taken 2007, 2009 and 2023