Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Corson County

Corson County


Corson County is named for Dighton Corson, who was a  Judge of the Supreme Court from 1889 to 1913.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Sioux County, North Dakota

E – Campbell County and Walworth County

S – Dewey County and Ziebrach County

W – Perkins County


Created:  March 2, 1909                         Map of South Dakota highlighting Corson County

County Seat:

McIntosh  1909 – present


County Courthouse – McIntosh


Location:  120 1st Street / 1st Avenue East

Built:  2007 – 2009

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Hulsing & Associates of Dickinson, North Dakota

Contractor:  Tooz Construction of Dickinson, North Dakota


Description:  The building faces south and is a one story light yellow and brown colored cinder block, stone, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds on the north side of the center of McIntosh. The south front has stone work and an open porch along the center and east section with stone dividers separating the windows. The other sides have vinyl covered walls. On the hipped metal roof are three dormer windows. The base of the building which sits on the side of a slope is brown stone. The northwest section rises above the main building. In the interior, a long lobby runs along the south side of the building. The County Circuit Court courtroom is located at the northwest corner. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 4th Judicial District and the County Magistrate Court.


See:  The 4th Judicial Circuit includes Butte CountyDewey CountyHarding CountyLawrence CountyMeade CountyPerkins County and Ziebrach County.


History:  The county was created in 1909 and McInt0sh was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story wood frame structure built in 1910. Additions were added in 1920 and 1934. The courthouse burned in 2006. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 2007 to 2009..



County Courthouse – McIntosh













County Circuit Court courtroom









Photos taken 2009 and 2023