Skip to content
Home » US States » N » North Dakota » Sioux County

Sioux County


Sioux County is named for the Sioux Native American tribe who reside in the region.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Grant County and Morton County

E – Emmons County

S – Corson County, South Dakota

W – Adams County and Grant County

Created:  September 3, 1914                 Map of North Dakota highlighting Sioux County

County Seat: 

Fort Yates  1915 – present


County Courthouse – Fort Yates


Location:  300 2nd Avenue / Belden Street

Built:  1980 – 1981

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Don D Jiran of Bismarck

Contractor:  Anderson Guthrie & Carlson of Bismarck


Description: The building faces east and is a one story orange-red colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds to the southwest of the center of Fort Yates. The east front has a recessed entrance and windows. The south side is also recessed. The roof line is flat. In the interior, The County Commissioners Meeting Room is located at the center and is used as the County District Court courtroom. The building houses the County District Court of the South Central Judicial District. 


See:  The architect, Don D Jiran, also designed the courthouse in Grant County.


See:  The South Central Judicial District includes Burleigh CountyEmmonds County, Grant County, McLean County, Mercer County, Morton CountyOliver County and Sheridan County.                                                                                


History:  The county was created in 1914 and Fort Yates became the county seat in 1915. The first courthouse was a one story wood frame structure built by Adam Ostrum in 1922. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1980 to 1981. The Standing Rock Indian Reservation Administration is also located here.



County Courthouse – Fort Yates













Commissioner’s Meeting Room / County District Court courtroom









Standing Rock Indian Reservation Administration – Fort Yates





Photos taken 2009 and 2023