Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota » Spink County

Spink County


Spink County is named for the Honorable S L Spink,  who was a Yankton a territorial delegate in Congress from 1869 to 1871.     


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Brown County

E – Day County and Clark County

S – Beadle County

W – Hand County and Faulk County


Created:  January 8, 1873                      Map of South Dakota highlighting Spink County

County Seat:        

Old Ashton  1879 – 1885

Ashton        1885 – 1886

Redfield      1886 – present


County Courthouse – Redfield


Location:  210 East 7th Avenue / East 3rd Street

Built:  1926 – 1927

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Toltz, King & Day of Saint Paul, Minnesota

Contractor:  Standard Construction Company of Minneapolis, Minnesota


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story red colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The square shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Redfield.  The first story is gray colored limestone and the upper stories are dark red brick. The north front has four tall stone columns rising from the second to third story. The limestone entablature carries the phrase “The Pedestal of Liberty is Justice.” The interior has a central rotunda rising to the top of the third story. The County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the north side of the third story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 5th Judicial Circuit and the County Magistrate Court. 


See:  The architect, Toltz, King & Day of St. Paul, Minnesota designed many courthouses.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Spink County Courthouse


Note:  Because Redfield did not receive the necessary two-thirds majority of the votes in the 1880 election, the citizens of Ashton refused to relinquish the county seat, resulting in a six year battle for the designation. In order to gain the seat, citizens of Redfield stole the county records from Ashton. Companies B and C of the First Regiment from Fargo under the command of Colonel Noah N. Tyner were called in order to prevent violence between the quickly formed Ashton militia and the Redfield residents. In the 1886 election, Redfield became the county seat, winning the needed votes.


See:  The 5th Judicial Circuit includes Brown CountyCampbell County, Day County, Edmunds CountyFaulk CountyMarshall County, McPherson CountyRoberts County and Walworth County.


History:  The county was created in 1873 and Old Ashton was selected as the county seat in 1878 when the county was organized. The first courthouse was a square frame structure erected in 1879. In 1885, Ashton was named as the county seat until the county seat issue was resolved. The following year, Redfield was confirmed as the county seat. The second courthouse, a two story brick structure was designed and built by George H Pew in 1887. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1926 to 1927.



County Courthouse – Redfield













County Circuit Court courtroom









Picture 1887 County Courthouse

Photos taken 2009