Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Ohio » Coshocton County

Coshocton County

Coshocton  County is named for the Delaware Native American word meaning “union of waters”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Holmes County and Tuscarawas County                

E – Tuscarawas County and  Guernsey County 

S – Muskingum County

W – Licking County and Knox County 


Created:  January 31, 1810                    Map of Ohio highlighting Coshocton County

County Seat:

Coshocton  1810 – present


County Courthouse – Coshocton 


Location:  349 Main Street / South 3rd Street

Built:  1873 – 1875

Style:  Second Empire and Italianate

Architect:  Carpenter & Williams of Meadville, Pennsylvania

Contractor:  Carpenter & Williams of Meadville, Pennsylvania


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Coshocton. The south front has projecting center tower with entrance on the first story and rising five stories to a sloped roof with clock. The windows are narrow and arched. A wide eave runs along the top of the second story with recessed dormers and mansard roof on the third story. There is stone trim along the corners of the building. The building houses the County Court of Common Pleas. The building was renovated in 1954.


See:  Ohio Court of Appeals – Canton ( 5th Appellate District )


History:  The county was created in 1810 and Coshocton was selected as the county seat in 1811. The court met in Colonel Charles Williams Tavern and then in a building owned by Wilson McGowan. The first courthouse was a two story structure built in 1824 on the public square at a cost of $2,000.  The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1873 to 1875 at a cost of $100,000.



County Courthouse – Coshocton  











Photos taken 2011