Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Ohio » Licking County

Licking County

Licking County is named for the salt licks in the area.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Knox County  

E – Coshocton County and Muskingum County

S – Perry County and Fairfield County

W – Franklin County and Delaware County


Created:  March 1, 1808                         Map of Ohio highlighting Licking County

County Seat:

Newark  1808 – present


County Courthouse – Newark 


Location:  20 South 2nd Street / Main Street

Built:  1877 – 1878

Style:  Second Empire

Architect:  Henry E Myer of Cleveland

Contractor:  Frazier Miller & Sheets


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story gray colored limestone structure. The building is located on the landscaped Public Square in the center of Newark. There is a sandstone foundation. On each side of the building are one story porches with four columns rising to a balcony on the second story. There is a large window with the projecting section rising to a small pediment. The building has eleven identical statues of Lady Justice, one at each entrance. The roof is mansard with a large square clock tower with four faced clock and gold colored dome at the top with an iron balustrade surrounding the flagpole. In the interior are religious murals, portraits, busts and stained glass windows.  The main County Court of Common Pleas courtroom is located on the west side of the second story. The building houses the County Court of Common Pleas – General and Probate Divisions. The building was renovated in 2015.


See:  Ohio Court of Appeals – Canton ( 5th Appellate District )


See:   The architect, Henry E Myer, also designed courthouses in Athens CountyColumbiana CountyErie County and Muskigum County.


History:  The county was created in 1808 and Newark was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a log structure built in 1809 on the Public Square. The second courthouse was a brick structure built in 1815. The third courthouse was a brick structure designed by Josiah Spaulding and Mark London and was built in 1832. The courthouse burned in 1875. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1876 to 1878 at a cost of $190,000.



County Courthouse – Newark



















Photos taken 2015