Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Ohio » Knox County

Knox County

Knox County is named for Henry Knox, who was a hero of the War of 1812 and who served as the first United States Secretary of State.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Richland CountyAshland County and Holmes County

E – Holmes County and Coshocton County 

S – Licking County 

W – Delaware County and Morrow County


Created:  March 1, 1808                         Map of Ohio highlighting Knox County

County Seat:

Mount Vernon  1808 – present


County Courthouse – Mount Vernon  


Location:  106 East High Street / North Gay Street

Built:  1855 – 1856

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  Daniel Clark

Contractor:  John Jennings


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Mount Vernon. The south front has two large columns rising to the second story. A wide band below the roofline and the pediment are decorated. A square wood cupola rises from the center of the south part of the building and has four clocks with a green colored dome. In the interior is a staircase with two flights of stairs located on the east side of the first story.  There are original mosaic floor titles in the west doorway. The large courtroom on the second story was divided into two courtrooms. The building houses the County Court of Common Pleas – Probate and Juvenile Divisions. The architect was Daniel Clark and the contractor was John Jennings. An addition was built in 1890 to 1891. The building was renovated in 1974. The architect was Paul Shuler and the contractor was F C Hall Construction Company.


County Service Center – Mount Vernon  


Location:  117 East High Street / North Mackenzie Street

Built:  1918 – 1919

Style:  Electic Georgian

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces north and is a four story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Mount Vernon to the east of the courthouse. The south front has a high two story white colored portico supported by six squre posts. On the north side are buff and red colored brick additions. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Court of Common Pleas – General and Domestic Relations Divisions. The building was the former Mercy Hospital which started as a two story brick residence. The hospital was expanded with additions id 1926, 1929, 1938 and 1953. In 1984, the building ceased to be a hospital and in 1996, the county became the owner.


See:  Ohio Court of Appeals – Canton ( 5th Appellate District )


History:  The county was created in 1808 and Mount Vernon was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a simple log structure built on the public square in 1809. The second courthouse was a two story brick structure built by George Downs and Solomon Geller in 1812 at a cost of $745. The courthouse was torn down in 1828 and the county rented the house of Thomas Irvine. In 1828 to 1829 the third courthouse was a two story brick structure  designed by Edward G Carlin and built by John Shaw on the public square at a cost of $5,785. The courthouse was destroyed by wind on April 9, 1854. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1855 to 1856 at a cost of $40,000.



County Courthouse – Mount Vernon























County Juvenile Department – Mount Vernon

Photos taken 2006 and 2015