Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Ohio » Huron County

Huron County

Huron County is named for the Huron Native American tribe.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Erie County

E – Lorain County and Ashland County

S – Ashland CountyRichland County and Crawford County 

W – Seneca County and Sandusky County


Created:  March 7, 1809                         Map of Ohio highlighting Huron County

County Seat:

Norwalk  1815 – present


County Courthouse – Norwalk 


Location:  2 East Main Street / Benedict Avenue

Built:  1881 – 1882 / 1913 – 1914

Style:  Queen Anne and Renaissance

Architect:  W B Gibbs / Nernon Redding

Contractor:  George Kratt


Description:  The building faces northwest and is a three story rusicated stone and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Norwalk. The northwest front has a high square stone clock tower with cupola at the top, rising above the entrance. The second floor is made up of smooth masonry blocks with a balcony framed by masonry walls and framed inside with Doric columns. The corner windows are long rectangular panels framed with a decorative border and keystone. The windows by the portico are arched with decorative borders and keystones. The roof line is flat. In the interior a wide corridor runs the length of the first story. A stairway ascends to the second story and the large court room. The building houses the County Court of Common Pleas and County Court of Common Pleas – Juvenile and Probate Divisions. The top floor of the building was destroyed by a fire in 1912 and was rebuilt in 1913 to 1914. The old walls were used in the reconstruction of the present courthouse. The architect was Vernon Redding and the contractor was George Kratt. On the east side of the building is the old County Jail.


Note:  The bell was cast by the McShane Bell Foundry of Baltimore, Maryland. It was cast for the Seth Thomas Clock Company of Thomaston, Connecticut (the maker of the clock) in 1913.


See:  The architect, Vernon Redding, also designed the courthouse in Ashland County.


See:  Ohio Court of Appeals – Toledo  ( 6th Appellate District )


History:  The county was created in 1809 and Norwalk was selected as the county seat in 1815 when the county was organized. The first courthouse was a frame structure built in 1818 to 1819. The second courthouse was a Greek Revival style structure built by John S Hall of Elyria in 1836 to 1837. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1882 to 1883 and rebuilt in 1913 to 1914.



County Courthouse – Norwalk 











Old County Jail



Photos taken 2010