Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Pennsylvania » Lycoming County

Lycoming County

Lycoming County is named for Lycoming Creek which is a tributary of the West Branch of the Susquehanna River.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Tioga County and Bradford County

E – Sullivan County

S – Columbia CountyMontour CountyNorthumberland County  and Union County

W – Clinton County and Potter County


Created:  April 13, 1795                          Map of Pennsylvania highlighting Lycoming County

County Seat:

Williamsport  1795 – present


County Courthouse – Williamsport  


Location:  48 West 3rd Street / Court Street

Built:  1968 – 1970

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Wagner-Hartman-Associates

Contractor:  Lundy Construction Company


Description:  The building faces south and is a four story red colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Williamsport. All sides of the square shaped building are the same. The first story is all glass and recessed. The rest is covered with a smooth glassy brick and a black colored window treatment that varies at the top to break the monotony. The roof line is flat. There is a newer county office building directly behind, also in modern office building style.


History:  The county was created in 1795 and Williamsport was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built by John Turk and Edward Gobin in 1802 to 1804 using the plans of the courthouse in Dauphin Countyand the plans were used again to build the courthouse in Lehigh County. The second courthouse was designed by Samuel Sloan and constructed by D S Rissell in 1860. In 1903 an addition was designed by Truman P Reltmeyer. The plans for this courthouse were used to build the courthouse in Northumberland County. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1969 to 1970.



County Courthouse – Williamsport















Cornerstone 1860 County Courthouse





Photos taken 2011