Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Pennsylvania » Snyder County

Snyder County

Snyder County is named for Simon Snyder, who was a Governor of the State of Pennsylvania.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Union County

E – Northumberland County

S – Dauphin County, Perry County and Juniata County

W – Mifflin County


Created:  March 2, 1855                         Map of Pennsylvania highlighting Snyder County

County Seat:

Middleburg  1855 – present


County Courthouse – Middleburg  


Location:  9 West Market Street / South Main Street

Built:  1915 – 1916

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  J F Stetler & Son

Contractor:  R F Coy.


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story dark red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Middleburg. The north front has a double arched entrance with portico above supported by four white columns with pediment. A wide cornice encircles the roofline. Over the front part of the building is a large square wood bell tower with clock and white colored roof.  The building houses the Court of Common Pleas. An annex was added in 1977 on the southwest side. The architect was L Robert Kimball & Associates and the contractor was Begh-Stark Construction Company. The building is tied into a commercial building on the east side by an enclosed hallway. In 2021, the two story red colored brick M & T Bank Building on the east side, was purchased and renovated. The contractor was T Ross Brothers of Montandon. 


Note:  Parts of the first courthouse remain underneath and to the rear of the bell tower and are built into these later additions.


History:  The county was created in 1855 and Middleburg was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1855. The courthouse was remodeled in 1867. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1915. The Annex was constructed in 1977.



County Courthouse – Middleburg 















Photos taken 2006 and 2011