Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Grimes County

Grimes County

Grimes County is named for Jesse Grimes, who was a signer of the Texas Declaration of Independence and an early settler.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Madison County

E – Walker County and Montgomery County

S – Waller County

W – Washington County and Brazos County


Created:  April 6, 1846                            Map of Texas highlighting Grimes County

County Seat: 

Anderson  1846 – present


County Courthouse – Anderson  


Location:  100 South Main Street / Buffington Street

Built:  1893 – 1894

Style:  Italianate

Architect:   F S Glover

Contractor:  G T Macon & Thomas C Foster


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a two story buff colored brick and stone structure. The building sits in the center of The Courthouse Circle in the center  Anderson. The south front has a central section with projects from the main building, rises to a peak at the roof line and has an arched recessed entrance on the first story. A dual-staircase rises to the second story entrance. The north part of the building projects outward and the corners are trimmed with stone. On the center of the roof is a square cupola with sloped roof. The roof is hipped. In the interior, the hallways are narrow and the ceilings have stamp metal designs. Wooden stairs ascend to the second story where the courtroom is located. The building houses the State District Court, Constitutional County Court and County Court at Law. The building was restored in 2002.


History:  The county was created in 1846 and Anderson was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a log structure built in 1848 and the building burned the same year. The second courthouse built in 1848 and destroyed by ferocious wind in 1850. The third courthouse was a stone structure designed by W W Arington and built by M N Taylor & McKipak in 1850. The building burned on May 15, 1890. The fourth courthouse was designed by Jacob Larmour of Lamour & Watson and constructed by J O Wilson & J A Wilson in 1891. The building burned on January 20, 1893. The fifth and present courthouse was constructed in 1893 to 1894 at a cost of $12,597.



County Courthouse – Anderson 



















































County Clerk’s Office – Anderson



Photos taken 2014 and 2019