Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Montgomery County

Montgomery County

Montgomery County is named for the City of Montgomery in Alabama, which was named for General Richard Montgomery.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Walker County and San Jacinto County

E – Liberty County

S – Harris County

W – Grimes County


Created:  December 19, 1837                Map of Texas highlighting Montgomery County

County Seat: 

Montgomery  1837 – 1874

Willis             1874 – 1880

Montgomery  1880 – 1889

Conroe          1889 – present


County Courthouse – Conroe


Location:  301 North Main Street / West Davis Street

Built:  1935 – 1936

Style:  Moderne

Architect:  Joseph Finger, Inc.

Contractor:  Nathan Wohlfield


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story limestone, buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Conroe. At the center is a tiered limestone building which is surrounded by buff colored wings on the north and south sides. On the east and west sides are one story porticoes supported by pillars. The roof line is flat. In the interior, there are four County District Court courtrooms and two County Court at Law courtrooms is located on the second and third stories. The building houses the County District Court and County Court at Law. The building was enlarged in 1965 and 1966 with the addition of the north and south wings. The architect was John Conley and the contractor was Martin S Senands, Inc. A further addition and alterations were completed in 1980. The architect was Page Southland Page of Houston and the contractor was S & S Contracting Company of Houston.


Note:  The 2nd Administrative Judicial Region has a main office in the Montgomery County Courthouse in Conroe.


County Courthouse Annex – Conroe


Location:  210 West Davis Street / N Thompson Street

Built:  Unknown

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces faces south and is a four story red colored brick, glass and concrete structure. The building is located in the center of Conroe on the north side of the courthouse and is connected by a skywalk. The building has four County Court at Law courtrooms. The building is named as the Atrium Building. The rectangular shaped building on the north side at 507 West Phillips Street has three District Court courtrooms. The building is named as the Lee G Allworth Building.


County Administration Building – Conroe



Location:  301 North Thompson Street / West Davis Street

Built:  1990 – 1991

Style:  Modern

Architect:  DSA – DiStefano / Santopetro Architects, Inc. of Houston

Contractor:  Alliance Construction.


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is rectangular and located on the west side of the courthouse in the center of Conroe. The west front has a central entrance with projecting red colored brick section with recessed glass wall and rising to a peak above the roof line. The roof line is flat. The building is named as the James H Keeshan Building and houses the family court and county offices. 


History:  The county was created in 1837 and Montgomery was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two room log cabin built in 1838. The second courthouse was a two story wood structure built in 1842. The third courthouse was built in 1855. In 1874, the county seat was moved to Willis and then back to Montgomery in 1880. Conroe became the county seat in 1889. In 1891, the fourth courthouse was a red colored brick Second Empire style structure designed by Eugene T Heiner and constructed by Moddie & Ellis. The fifth and present courthouse was constructed in 1935 to 1936 and enlarged in 1965 to 1966. The County Administration Building was constructed in 1990 to 1991.



County Courthouse – Conroe

















County Distrist Court courtroom



















County Administration Building – Conroe







Photos taken 2014 and 2017