Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Walker County

Walker County

Walker County is named for Samuel Hamilton Walker, who was a Texas Ranger and a soldier in the Mexican-American War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Madison County and Houston County

E – Trinity County and San Jacinto County

S – Montgomery County

W – Grimes County


Created:  April 6, 1846                            Map of Texas highlighting Walker County

County Seat: 

Huntsville  1846 – present


County Courthouse – Huntsville  


Location:  1100 University Avenue / 11th Street

Built:  1969 – 1970

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Joiner, Coburn & King

Contractor:  Wyatt C Hedrick Engineering Corporation and Spaw-Glass, Inc


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story story buff colored brick, concrete and steel structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds and sits on a rise with steps to the first story. The east front and each side has a large porch with four brick pillars and balcony on the second story. The green colored roof is hipped.


See:  The architect, Wyatt C Hedrick of Fort Worth also designed courthouses in Austin CountyBrazoria CountyCoke CountyComanche County, Kaufman CountyKent County, Motley County and Yoakum County.


Note:  Courthouses were built in 1848, 1853 and 1861, The previous courthouse was designed by Eugene T Heiner and constructed by D N Darling in 1888. The building was destroyed by fire in 1968.


County Annex – Huntsville  



Location:  1301 Sam Houston Avenue / 13th Street

Built:  1992 – 1993

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Jack Cumpton

Contractor:  Collier Construction


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story gray colored brick and concrete structure. The south front has a small overhang over the central entrance. White colored pilasters run across the front. The flat roof overhangs the building.



County Courthouse – Huntsville  





















County Courthouse Annex – Huntsville  







Photos taken 2014