Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Motley County

Motley County

Motley County is named for Junius William Mottley, who was a signer of the Texas Declaration of Independence ( error in name spelling ).


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Briscoe County and Hall County

E – Cottle County

S – Dickens County

W – Floyd County


Created:  August 21, 1876                      Map of Texas highlighting Motley County

County Seat: 

Matador  1876 – present


County Courthouse – Matador


Location:  701 Dundee Avenue / Main Street

Built:  1947 – 1948

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Wyatt C Hedrick of Fort Worth

Contractor:  BMFP Construction Company, a partnership composed of F O Bennett, W S Moss and H A Padgett, Jr. of Lubbock


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious grounds in the center of the city. The building is rectangular with a recessed center section. There are yellow colored panels between the first and second story windows. The roof line is flat.


See:  The architect, Wyatt C Hedrick of Fort Worth also designed courthouses in Austin CountyBrazoria CountyCoke CountyComanche County, Kaufman CountyKent County, Walker County and Yoakum County.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1892 and burned in 1894. The second courthouse was constructed by John A White in 1894 and the building burned in 1944.


County Courthouse – Matador 





















Picture 1894 County Courthouse

Photos taken 2014