Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Milam County

Milam County

Milam County is named for Benjamin Rush Milam, who was an early Texas colonizer and soldier in the Texas Revolution.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Bell County and Falls County

E – Robertson County

S – Burleson County and Lee County

W – Williamson County


Created:  March 17, 1836                       Map of Texas highlighting Milam County

County Seat: 

Nashville   1836 – 1846

Cameron   1846 – present


County Courthouse – Cameron 


Location:  102 South Fannin Avenue / East 1st Street

Built:  1891 – 1892

Style:  Renaissance Revival

Architect:  A O Watson of Larmour & Watson

Contractor:  Lee & Plommer


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story native limestone structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Cameron. The south and north fronts have one story porticoes supported by four columns with balcony above. Behind rise the centre sections with a pediment rising above the roof line. On the center of the roof is a large square dome with the statue of Justice at the top. In the interior there are tile floors and wooden staircases. The large District Court courtroom is located on the  south side of the second story and has ornate wood paneling and has a galley on three sides of the third story.  There is a small County Court courtroom on the first story.The building houses the State District Court, Constitutional County Court and County Justice Court. The building was restored in 2005. The architect was Lord Aeck Sargent. On the southeast side is the Old County Jail and on the east is the County Tax Office.


See:  The architect, A O Watson designed other courthouses in De Witt County, Haskell CountyLlano County and Val Verde County.


Note:  Courthouse statues in most of the southern states faced towards the south. Those statues that had faced north prior to the Civil War were turned to face south. The original statue on the Milam courthouse faced south.


History:  The county was created in 1836 as one of the original 23 counties and Nashville was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse wad a wood structure built in Nashville in 1841. The second courthouse was built by Jacob Gross and Wiley Jones in Cameron in 1847. The third courthouse was built in 1857 and burned in 1874. The fourth courthouse was designed by Lamour & Klerks and constructed by Arnold & Jackson in 1876. The fifth and present courthouse was constructed at a cost of $75,000.



County Courthouse – Cameron





















































Old County Jail – Cameron









County Tax Office – Cameron







Photos taken 2009, 2014 and 2019