Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Runnels County

Runnels County

Runnels County is named for Hiram George Runnels, who was the ninth governor of Mississippi and a planter in Texas.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Nolan County and Taylor County

E – Coleman County

S – Concho County

W – Tom Green County and Coke County


Created:  February 1, 1858                    Map of Texas highlighting Runnels County

County Seat: 

Runnels City  1880 – 1888

Ballinger          1888 – present


County Courthouse – Ballinger


Location:  600 Courthouse Square / Hutching Avenue / Broadway

Built:  1888 – 1889

Style:  Second Empire

Architect:  Eugene T Heiner

Contractor:  Lovell & Miller


Description:  The building faces northwest and is a three story yellow colored stone structure. The building is located on the spacious landscaped Courthouse Square in the center of the city. The northwest front has a three story center section with small stone portico and balcony and two story north and south wings. The windows on the protruding north and south towers are arched. The roof line is flat. The building was renovated in 1941 and the north and south wings added. The architect was Roy E Lane and the contractor was Oscar Rose.


See:  The contractor, Tom Lovell of Denton, also constructed courthouses in Brazonia CountyBrewster CountyCoryell County,Denton CountyHamilton CountyHardeman CountyHill County and McLennan County


Note:  The first courthouse was built in Runnels City in 1880. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $29,015.



County Courthouse – Ballinger 























Photos taken 2006 and 2014