Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Arkansas » Johnson County

Johnson County

Johnson County is named for Benjamin Johnson, who was the first judge of the federal district for Arkansas.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Madison County and Newton County

E – Pope County

S – Logan County

W – Franklin County


Created:  November 16, 1833      Map of Arkansas highlighting Johnson County

County Seat:        

Spadra Boat Landing   1833 – 1936

Clarksville                    1836 – present


County Courthouse – Clarksville


Location:  215 West Main Street /  South Fulton Street

Built:  1934 – 1935

Style:  Italian Classical Revival

Architect:  Haralson and Nelson

Contractor:  Linebarger & Feaser


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story gray colored stone, white colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Clarksville. The rectangular building is located on landscaped grounds. The north front has three arched entrance on the first story. Six columns rise from the second story to the top of the third story with recessed vertical windows between. There are east and west wings. A cornice runs below the flat roof line. 


See:  The 5th Judicial District includes Franklin County and Pope County.


Note:  The first court met at the home of Elijah Alson at the Spadra Boat landing. The first courthouse was built in 1837 and burned in 1872. The second and previous courthouse was designed by John D Edwards and constructed by A J Millard and R S King in 1874. The third courthouse was constructed in 1934.



County Courthouse – Clarksville















Photos taken 2011