Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Arkansas » Newton County

Newton County

Newton County is named for Thomas W Newton, who was a State Senator and a member of the United States House of Representatives from Arkansas.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Carroll County and Boone County

E – Searcy County

S – Pope County and Johnson County

W – Johnson County and Madison County


Created:  December 14, 1842                Map of Arkansas highlighting Newton County

County Seat:        

Shop Creek  1842 – 1843

Jasper          1843 – present


County Courthouse – Jasper


Location:  100 Court Street / Stone Street

Built:  1939 – 1940

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Works Progress Administration

Contractor:  Works Progress Administration


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story reinforced concrete, fieldstone and limestone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Jasper. The building is “H” shaped with projecting east and west sections. The central entrance is framed with granite. The interior has concrete floors and the exterior walls are constructed of gray colored granite quarried from the bed of the Little Buffalo River. The roof line is flat. The courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 14th Judicial District and the County District Court. The building was remodeled in 2003. The architect was Jeff Laur.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Newton County Courthouse


See:  The 14th Judicial District includes Baxter CountyBoone County and Marion County.


History:  The county was created in 1842 and the home of John Belleh on Shop Creek was designated as the county seat. In 1843, the county seat was moved to Jasper. The first courthouse was a log structure built in 1842 and which burned in 1866. Court met at different locations until 1873 when the second courthouse was designed and built by Robbie Hobbs. The third courthouse was constructed in 1902 and burned in 1939. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1939 to 1940 at a cost of $42,000.



County Courthouse – Jasper















Photos taken 2011