Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Arkansas » Lawrence County

Lawrence County

Lawrence County is named for James Lawrence, who was an American naval officer during the War of 1812.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Sharp CountyRandolph County and Greene County 

E – Greene County and Craighead County

S – Craighead County, Jackson County and Independence County

W – Sharp County


Created:  January 15, 1815                    Map of Arkansas highlighting Lawrence County

County Seat:        

Lawrence          1815 – 1829

Jackson            1829 – 1837

Smithville          1837 – 1868

Clover Bend      1868 – 1869

Powhatan          1869 – 1963  ( Western District )

Walnut Ridge    1887 – 1963  ( Eastern District )

Walnut Ridge    1963 – present


County Courthouse – Walnut Ridge


Location:  315 West Main Street / SW 3rd Street

Built:  1964 – 1965

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Noland Blass of Erhart, Eichenbaum, Rauch and Blass

Contractor:  McDaniel Brothers Construction Company of Jonesboro


Description:  The building  faces northeast and is a one story brown colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Walnut Ridge. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds. The center section rises above the east and west wings and has a high central entrance with over hanging roof. The windows are vertical with white colored panels above and below. The roof line is flat.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by Charles Thompson and constructed by Stewart Brothers in 1901. The building was razed when the present courthouse was constructed.


Old County Courthouse – Powhatan



Location:  Highway 25

Built:  1888

Style:  Late Victorian

Architect:   D A McKinnon of Paducah, Kentucky

Contractor:   Boon & McGinnis of Little Rock


Description:  The buildingfaces east and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located at the top of a hill on the spacious grounds of the Powhatan Historic State Park. The east front has a projecting center section with arched entrance on the first story and three narrow windows on the second story and rising to a square white colored cupola with steep roof. The base of the building has course buff colored stone. Above the eaves are small dormers and a mansard roof. The building was restored in 1973. The architect was Little, Maddox & Standefer Architects Inc. of Jonesboro and the contractor was Damron Construction Company of Jonesboro.


See:  The 3rd Judicial District includes Jackson County, Randolph County and Sharp County.


Note: The first courthouse was built in 1873 as the western district courthouse. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $12,000.


Note:  Lawrence County was one of the five original administrative districts created in 1809 to 1819 being  Arkansas CountyClark CountyHempstead County and Pulaski County.



County Courthouse – Walnut Ridge

















Old County Courthouse – Powhatan

















Photos taken 2011