Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Arkansas » Poinsett County

Poinsett County

Poinsett County is named for Joel Roberts Poinsett, who was a United States Secretary of War and namesake of the “poinsettia”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Craighead County

E – Mississippi County

S – Crittenden County and Cross County

W – Jackson County


Created:  February 28, 1838                  Map of Arkansas highlighting Poinsett County

County Seat:        

Bolivar        1838 – 1856

Harrisburg  1856 – present


County Courthouse – Harrisburg


Location:  401 Market / Main Street

Built:  1917 1918

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  Mitchell Seligman

Contractor:  J  E Hollingsworth


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story gray colored Bedford stone and sandstone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Harrisburg. The west front has a large portico with four columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. The east side has a similar portico. A balustrade runs along the roof. A large octagonal shaped dome is at the center of the roof with clock and black colored dome at the top. The roof has red colored tiles.


See:  The 2nd Judicial District includes Clay County, Craighead CountyCrittenden CountyGreene County and Mississippi County.


Note:  The previous courthouse was constructed by Alexander Hamilton in 1858 at a cost of $8,800 and was destroyed by fire in 1917. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $200,000.



County Courthouse – Harrisburg











Photos taken 2011