Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Arkansas » Little River County

Little River County

Little River County is named for the Little River which flows southeasterly through the county.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Sevier County

E – Sevier County and Hempstead County

S – Miller County and Bowie County, Texas

W – McCurtain County, Oklahoma


Created:   March 5, 1867                        Map of Arkansas highlighting Little River County

County Seat:        

Alleene              1867 – 1868

Rocky Comfort  1868 – 1880-

Richmond          1880 – 1902

Rocky Comfort  1902 – 1906

Ashdown           1906 – present


County Courthouse – Ashdown


Location:  351 2nd Street / West Main Street

Built:  1907 – 1908

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:   Sidney Stewart

Contractor:  R S O’Neal


Description:  The building  faces northeast and is a two story red colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Ashdown. The northeast front of the square shaped building has a large projecting portico with two high white colored columns rising to the top of the second story with a parapet above. The entrance is recessed. On the center of the roof is a large octagonal gold colored dome. A wide white colored cornice runs below the hipped roof line. In the interior, the plaster walls are painted a cream and the woodwork is painted a light mint color. Hallways crisscross on the first story with stairs at each end of the main hall. The courtroom is located on the second story. Windows under the dome in the center of the ceiling provide natural light in the courtroom. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the West 9th Judicial District and the County District Court of the 36th Judicial District.  On the southwest is a one story red colored brick addition. The building was renovated in 1977.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Little River County Courthouse


See:  The 9th Judicial District includes Clark County, Howard County, Pike County and Sevier County.


History:  The county was created in 1867 and Alleene was designated as the county seat. The county officers met at the home of William Freeman at Foreman. In 1868, the county seat was moved to Rocky Comfort and the court met in various buildings. In 1880, the county seat was moved to Richmond and the first courthouse was built. The courthouse burned in 1882 and the school house and vacant buildings were used until the second courthouse was built soon after. The county seat was moved back to Rocky Comfort ( Foreman ) in 1902 and then to Ashdown in 1907 where the third and present courthouse was constructed in 1907.



County Courthouse – Ashdown



























Photos taken 2010 and 2019