Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Arkansas » Miller County

Miller County

Miller County is named for James Miller, who was the first Governor of the Arkansas Territory.


Surrounding County and Parish Courthouses: 

N – Little River County

E – Hempstead County and Lafayette County

S – Caddo Parish, Louisiana

W – Cass County, Texas and  Bowie County, Texas


Created:  April 1, 1820                           Map of Arkansas highlighting Miller County

December 22, 1874

County Seat:        

Texarkana  1880 – present


County Courthouse – Texarkana


Location:  400 Laurel Street / East 5th Street

Built:  1938 – 1939

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:   E C Seibert

Contractor:  Manhattan Construction Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a four story cut limestone and concrete  structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Texarkana. The west front has a stone framed central entrance on the first story. There is ornamentation on the stone facing. The north and south one story wings project from the main building. The fourth story is recessed. The building has a flat roof line. The interior hallways and lobby are elegant, with pink marble floors and maroon marble wainscoting below rose-beige walls. The color pattern is representative of the era’s style. The main County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the second story and has a colorful white ceiling, gold painted molding, green stucco walls, and wooden wainscoting left in its natural finish. A second smaller courtroom is located on the third story. The fourth story contains the jail. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the South 8th Judicial District. An addition was constructed on the east side in 1974. The architect was Reinheimer, Cox, Crumpton & Associates and the contractor was E W Johnson Construction Company.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Miller County Courthouse


Note:  Miller County was created on April 1, 1820 with the county seat at Clarksville (Texas) in 1831. In 1836 Arkansas became a state and Texas declared itself to be an independent republic. In 1845, Texas agreed to annexation by the United States settling the boundary between Texas and Arkansas. Most of Miller County was lost to Texas and the county was dissolved with the Arkansas territory returning to Lafayette County. Miller County was recreated on December 22, 1874


See:  The 8th Judicial District includes Hempstead County, Lafayette County and Nevada County.


History:  The county was created in 1874 and Texarkana was selected as the county seat. The first court met at the home of John Hall. The first courthouse was a two story brick structure designed by Gibbs & Bretsacher and constructed by Clark & Johnson in 1888. The building was condemned and demolished. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1938 to 1939.




County Courthouse – Texarkana

















County Circuit Court courtroom



















Old Courthouse cornerstone 1888

Photos taken 2010, 2017 and 2019