Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » California » Alameda County

Alameda County

Alameda County is named for the Spanish word for “avenue shaded by tress” or “cottonwood grove”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Contra Costa County

E – San Joaquin County and Stanislau County

S – Santa Clara County

W – San Mateo County and San Francisco County


Created:  March 25, 1853                                               Location in the state of California

County Seat: 

Alvarado        1853 – 1855

San Leandro  1855 – 1873

Oakland         1873 – present


Old County Courthouse – Oakland 


Location:  1225 Fallon Street / 12th Street

Built:  1938 – 1939

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Will G Corlett, Henry A Minton, James W Plachek, William E Schirmer and Carl Werner

Contractor:  Public Works Administration


Description:  The building faces south and is an eleven story steel frame and reinforced concrete and granite structure. The building which has a California granite base and granite exterior, is located on landscaped grounds on the edge of Lake Merritt. The base of the square shaped building is three stories with vertical windows. In the center is a large square eight story tower with vertical windows and small square windows at the top. There is a cupola at the top of the building. The interior has a spacious lobby flanked by fifteen foot high marble mosaic murals depicting the county history and created by artist Marian Simpson of Berkley and sculptor Gaetano Duccini of San Francisco.The building is named as the Rene C Davidson Courthouse. 


Note:  The first courthouse was a converted loft above the general store in Alvarado ( Union City ) until 1855. The second courthouse was a Greek Revival structure constructed at a cost of $30,000 in San Leandro. The building was damaged in the 1868 earthquake, was restored and served until 1873. In 1926, the building was demolished. The third courthouse was a two story structure built in Oakland for $18,000. The fourth courthouse was a Second Empire style structure designed by John J Newsom and Thomas D Newsom in 1875. The building was demolished in 1950.


Note:  The third courthouse is still standing and located at 1952 20 th Avenue and International; Boulevard in Oakland.


County Courthouse – Oakland 



Location:  661 Washington Street / 6th Street

Built:  Unknown

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces north and is a six story concrete and glass structure. The rectangular building has horizontal windows and the north front is concave along the center section. The roof line is flat. The building is named as the Wiley W Manuel Courthouse and houses the Superior Court.. 


County Justice Center – Oakland 



Location:  660 Washington Street / 6th Street

Built:  Unknown

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces west and is a six story concrete structure. The building is named as the Allen E Broussard Justice Center and houses the Superior Court.


See:  The county is located in the 1st Appellate District of the Court of Appeal – San Francisco.


Other Branch Courthouses


Alameda  /  Berkeley  /  Fremont  /  Hayward  /  Pleasanton – Dublin





































Photos taken 2015