Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Virginia » Buchanan County

Buchanan County

Buchanan County is named for James Buchanan, who was a United States senator from Pennsylvania and President of the United States.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Pike County, Kentucky, Mingo County, West Virginia and McDowell County, West Virginia

E – Tazewell County

S – Russell County

W – Dickenson County and Pike County, Kentucky


Created:  February 13, 1858                  Map of Virginia highlighting Buchanan County

County Seat: 

Grundy  1858 – present


County Courthouse – Grundy 


Location:  1012 Walnut Street / Main Street

Built:  1905 – 1906

Style:  Renaissance Revival

Architect:  Frank Pierce Milburn of Washington, DC

Contractor:  Frank Pierce Milburn & Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story stone gray colored course sandstone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Tazewell. At the northwest corner is a tall square clock tower with open space at the top. The west front has a projecting stone porch on the first story and above is a high vertical arched window. The building is covered by a shallow, slate-covered hipped roof with a modillion cornice and plain frieze. In the interior, the courtroom has a handsome stained glass window in the Tiffany mode over the judge’s bench. The window contains an allegorical figure seated in front of a colonnade with vignettes consisting of the national and state seals. The building houses the County Circuit Court, County General District Court and County Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court of the 29th Judicial Circuit. On the east side is the modern five story addition with five large arches along the first story. The building was gutted by fire in 1915 and rebuilt in 1917. The architect was Frank Pierce Milburn of Milburn, Heister and Company and the contractor was S R Hurley. The building was enlarged in 1949 to 1951. The contractor was J Clarence Hildreth. The building was remodeled in 1980. The architect was William D Price. Present construction is being done by Price-Rothe-Muse of Blountville, Tennessee. On the east side is the two story Sheriff’s Office.


See:  The architect Frank Pierce Milburn of Washington, DC.


See:  The 29th Judicial Circuit includes Dickenson CountyRussell County and Tazewell County.


History:  The county was created in 1858 and Grundy was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1858 and was destroyed by fire in 1862. The second courthouse was built in 1862. The third courthouse built in 1866 and was destroyed by fire in 1885. The fourth courthouse was built in 1886. The fifth and present courthouse was constructed in 1905 to 1906.



County Courthouse – Grundy















Statue of Miner





County Sheriff’s Office – Grundy



Photos taken 2013