Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Virginia » Dickenson County

Dickenson County

Dickenson County is named for William J Dickenson, who was a delegate to the Virginia General Assembly from Russell County.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Pike County, Kentucky

E – Buchanan County

S – Russell County

W – Wise County


Created:  March 1, 1880                         Map of Virginia highlighting Dickenson County

County Seat: 

Clintwood  1880 – present


County Courthouse – Clintwood 


Location:  293 Main Street / McClure Street

Built:  1915 – 1917

Style:  Colonial Revival

Architect:  H M Miller

Contractor:  D G Kelley


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building backs onto a hill and is located in the center of Clintwood. The building is “T” shaped and is attached to the front of the 1894 courthouse. The southeast front has a high portico with two double Ionic columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. There is corbeled brick at the corners. The second story windows are arched. There is a southwest and a northeast wing. On the center of the roof is a square white colored cupola with clock and dome. The roof is hipped. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 29th Judicial Circuit. An addition was added in 1950. A further addition was constructed on the northwest side in 1972 which replaced the 1894 courthouse.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Dickenson County Courthouse


County Courthouse Annex – Clintwood 



Location:  119 Courthouse Lane / Main Street

Built:  1970 – 1972

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Beeson & Beeson of Abingdon

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Clintwood on the west side of the courthouse. The building has a raised concrete basement.  The roof line is flat. The building houses the County General District Court and County Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court of the 29th Judicial Circuit. 


See:  The 29th Judicial Circuit includes Buchanan CountyRussell County and Tazewell County.


History:  The first court was held in the log dwelling of James Fleming at the mouth of Caney Creek in 1880. The first courthouse was a brick structure built in 1881. The second courthouse was built in 1894. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1915 to 1917.



County Courthouse – Clintwood













Photos taken 2013