Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Virginia » Falls Church

Falls Church

Falls Church is named for the Falls Church known as “William Gunnell’s Church” designed and built by Colonel Richard Blackburn.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Fairfax County 

E – Arlington County 

S – Fairfax County 

W – Fairfax County 

Independent City                                   State map highlighting Falls Church

Created:  August 16, 1948


City Hall / Courthouse – Falls Church


Location:  300 Park Avenue / Little Falls Street

Built:  1957 – 1959

Style:  Modern Williamsburg

Architect:  Milton L Grigg of Charlottesville

Contractor:  Miller Brothers, Inc.


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious grounds in the center of Falls Church. The building is an “H” shape with a southwest wing and a northeast wing. The entrances are framed with white colored wood. The roof is hipped. The building houses the City General District Court and City Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court of the 17th Judicial Circuit. The building was expanded in 1980 to 1982. The architect was Spector, Peake and Howell and the contractor was Robert J. Henley Construction Company, Inc.


See:  The Arlington County Courthouse at 1425 Courthouse Road and 14th Street North in Arlington, houses the City Circuit Court of the 17th Judicial Circuit.


History:  The Independent City was created in 1948. The first and present courthouse was constructed in 1960 to 1962 at a cost of $375,000.



City Hall / Courthouse – Falls Church













Photos taken 2013