Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Washington » Whitman County

Whitman County

Whitman County is named for Marcus Whitman, who was a Presbyterian missionary who was killed in 1847 by members of the Cayuse tribe.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Lincoln County and Spokane County

E – Benwah County, Idaho, Latah County, Idaho and Nez Perce County, Idaho

S – Asotin CountyGarfield County and Coulmbia County

W – Franklin County and Adams County


Created:  November 19, 1871                Map of Washington highlighting Whitman County

County Seat: 

Colfax  1871 – present


County Courthouse – Colfax 


Location:  404 North Main Street / East Island Street

Built:  1954 – 1955

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Whitehouse, Price, Deneff and Deeble

Contractor:  E R Haynes.


Description:  The building  faces west and is a two story red-orange colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Colfax and is “L” shaped with a west wing and a south wing. The entrance at the south end of the west front has concrete dividers at the doors.  The entrance at the south end of the west front has concrete dividers at the doors. The north section rises above the flat roof line of the main building and has concrete facing on the west front. On the roof is a large clock. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the County Superior Court courtroom is located on the north side of the second story. The building houses the County Superior Court and the County District Court. On the east side is the County Jail.


History:  The county was created in 1871 and Colfax was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was designed by George W Babcock and constructed by W White in 1889. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1954 to  1955.



County Courthouse – Colfax













County Superior Court courtroom









County Jail – Colfax

Photos taken 2006 and 2016