Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » West Virginia » Raleigh County

Raleigh County

Raleigh County is named for Sir Walter Raleigh, who was an English explorer and poet.


Surrounding Courthouses: 

N – Kanawha County and Fayette County

E – Summers County

S – Mercer County and Wyoming County

W – Wyoming County and Boone County


Created:  January 23, 1850                    Map of West Virginia highlighting Raleigh County

County Seat: 

Beckley  1850 – present


County Courthouse – Beckley


Location:  215 Main Street / Heber Street

Built:  1936 – 1937

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  L T Bengtson, Inc.

Contractor:  J O Freeman


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Beckley. The building was constructed of steel joists with an exterior of pink and natural color sandstone and is an “I” shape. The south front facade has three divisions, with a total of twelve bays. There is a recessed center section with central entrance framed with stone. The windows are vertical with panels between. The east and west wings are lower and extend from the main building. The roof line is flat. The building was a Federal Emergency Administration of Public Works.


County Judicial Center – Beckley



Location:  222 Main Street / Heber Street

Built:  2008 – 2012

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Silling Arichitects opf Charleston

Contractor:  G & G Builders


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story concrete and glass structure. The building is located in the center of Beckley to the south of the courthouse. The north front has a central entrance with glass panels above on the second and third stories. The northwest corner has a large square tower rising four stories with glass panels and clock at the top. Along the west side are concrete pillars dividing the windows and rising to the top of the second story. The first floor contains two courtrooms for the county’s five magistrates, the Magistrate Clerk’s Office, and a holding facility. Three family court judges have separate courtrooms and chambers on the second floor, which also houses the Circuit Clerk’s Office. A courtroom is reserved for mental hygiene hearings. The third floor features courtrooms and chambers for the county’s three circuit judges. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 10th Judicial Circuit, County Magistrate Court and County Family Court.The architectural precast panels were completed by Lang Masonry Contractors.


History:  The county was created in 1850 and Beckley was selected as the county seat. The first court met in the Beckley Schoolhouse. The first courthouse was built in 1852 at a cost of $2,722. The second courthouse was designed by Frank E Davis and built in 1893. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1937 at a cost of $500,000. The County Judicial Center was constructed in 2008 to 2012 at a cost of $17,500,000.



County Courthouse – Beckley















County Judicial Center – Beckley











Photos taken 2012