Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Wyoming » Platte County

Platte County


Platte County is named for the North Platte River which flows through the county, and “platte” is the French for “flat”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Converse County and Niobrara County

E – Goshen County

S – Laramie County

W – Albany County and Converse County


Created:  February 9, 1911                     Map of Wyoming highlighting Platte County
County Seat:

Wheatland 1911 – present


County Courthouse – Wheatland


Location:  800 9th Street / Walnut Street

Built:  1917 – 1918
Style:  Classical Revival
Architect:  Baerreson Brothers Architects
Contractor:  Archie Allison of Cheyenne.

 The building faces west and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Wheatland. The building has a raised basement. The west front projects from the main building and has four large stone columns supporting a header with pediment above. The main entrance is recessed and the second story is recessed behind the columns. The roof line extends beyond the building and has white colored trim. In the interior is a staircase with wood railings. The County District Court courtroom is located on the east side of the second story and has a large bison head on the wall. The building houses the County District Court and County Circuit Court of the 8th Judicial District. 


See:  The 8th Judicial District includes Converse County, Goshen County and Niobrara County and Platte County.


History:  The county was created in 1911 and Wheatland was selected as the county seat in 1912. The first and present courthouse was constructed in 1917 to 1918 at a cost of $85,000.



County Courthouse – Wheatland

























County District Court courthouse













Oregon Trail Ruts State Historic Site – Guernsey







Photos taken 2007 and 2015