Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Illinois » Sangamon County

Sangamon County

Sangamon County is named for the Sangamon River the name of which is derived from the Pottawatomie Indian word “sain-guee-mon”, meaning “where there is plenty to eat”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Menard County and Logan County

E – Macon County and Christian County

S – Montgomery County and Macoupin County

W – Morgan County and Cass County


Created:  January 30, 1821                                                        Map of Illinois highlighting Sangamon County

County Seat:

Springfield 1821 – present


County Courthouse – Springfield


Location:  200 South 9th Street / East Monroe Street

Built:  1989 – 1991

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Fischer – Wimosky Architects

Contractor:  C Iber & Sons, Incorporated


Description: The building faces west and is a seven story red colored brick structure. The west front has a large brick arch extending to the top of the building. White stone trim is along the top of the first story, top of the fourth story and top of the seventh story.


Old County Courthouse – Springfield




Built:  1837 – 1840

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  John Francis Rogue

Contractor:  Local trades


Description: The building faces south and is a two story dolomite stone structure. The cornerstone was laid on July 4, 1837. The building is the fifth state house constructed and was used until 1876 when it was sold to Sangamon County for use as a courthouse until 1966. The building has a stark facade of locally quarried stone. At the front is a portico with four stone columns. A narrow dome is supported by thin columns. The interior is elegant with an impressive double staircase. The restored rooms are furnished with original and reproduction pieces. The building originally housed the House of Representatives, Senate and Supreme Court. The building was dismantled in the 1960,s and the underground building that houses the Illinois State Historical Library was constructed. The building was resembled on top of the new structure.


See:  The 7th Judicial District includes Greene CountyJersey CountyMacoupin CountyMorgan County and Scott County.


See:  Illinois Appellate Court – Springfield and Illinois Supreme Court



County Courthouse – Springfield







Old County Courthouse – Springfield





Photos taken 2007 and 2012