Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Illinois » Macon County

Macon County

Macon County is named for Nathaniel Macon, who was the sixth Speaker of the United States House of Representatives and a United States Senator from North Carolina.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – DeWit County

E – Piatt County and Moultrie County

S – Shelby County and Christian County

W – Christian CountySangamon County and Logan County


Created:  January 19, 1829                                                        Map of Illinois highlighting Macon County

County Seat:

Decatur  1829 – present


County Courthouse – Decatur


Location:  253 East Wood Street / Veteran’s Parkway

Built:  1938 – 1939

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Aschauer & Waggoner and Charles Harris

Contractor:  J L Simmons Company, Inc.


Description: The building faces north and is a seven story gray colored limestone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Decatur. The north front has an east and west projecting section with one story section along the east and west sides. The central entrance is slightly recessed with vertical windows on either side. At the flat roof line is a large clock. The interior has Art Deco ornamentation.  The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 6th Judicial Circuit. On the south side is the County Law Enforcement Center.


See:  The old 1829 log courthouse is located at the Macon County Historical Museun at 5580 Forks Road to the southeast of the center of Decatur.


See:  The 6th Judicial District includes Champaign CountyDeWitt County, Douglas CountyMoultrie County and Piatt County.


History:  The county was created in 1829 and Decatur was selected as the county seat. The first court met at the home of James Ward near Decatur. The first courthouse was a log structure built in 1829 which is still standing. The second courthouse was a two story brick structure built in 1837. The third courthouse was a stone Romanesque Revival structure designed by Buckingham and Miller and constructed by Charles A Moses in 1891 to 1892. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1938 to 1940.


County Administration Building – Decatur



Location:  141 South Main Street / Wood Street

Built:  1963 – 1965

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Livergood Caswell & Associates.

Contractor:  Unknown


Description: The building faces south and is a eight story glass and cream colored concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Decatur to the northwest of the courthouse. The windows are horizontal with projecting concrete slabs at each story. The roof line is flat. 



County Courthouse – Decatur





Statue Abraham Lincoln











County Administration Building – Decatur

Photos taken 2010