Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Illinois » Douglas County

Douglas County

Douglas County is named for Stephen A Douglas, who was Secretary of State in 1840, a Representative to Congress, a United States Senator and a candidate for  President in 1860.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Champaign County

E – Edgar County

S – Coles County

W – Moultrie County and Piatt County

Created:  February 8, 1859                                                        Map of Illinois highlighting Douglas County

County Seat:

Camargo  1859 – 1860

Tuscola    1860 – present


County Courthouse – Tuscola


Location:  401 South Center Street / East Houghton Street

Built:  1911 – 1912

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Joseph W Royer of Urbana

Contractor:  W M Allen Son & Company


Description: The building faces west and is a three story gray limestone and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Tuscola. The center section projects from the main building and has four tall columns rising from the second to third stories with a large vertical window in the center. The first story has horizontal stone work. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 6th Judicial Circuit. 


See:  The architect Joseph W Royer of Urbana, Illinois designed courthouses in Illinois in Bureau CountyChampaign CountyClay County, Ford CountyGrundy CountyMarion County, Piatt County and Richland Countyin iowa in Linn County; and in Wisconsin in Douglas County.


See:  The 6th Judicial District includes Champaign CountyDeWitt County, Macon CountyMoultrie County and Piatt County.


History:  The county was created in 1859 and Camargo was selected as the county seat, but in 1860, the county seat was moved to Tuscola. The first court met in the Illinois Central depot and then in rented premises.  The first courthouse was a small wooden structure erected at private expense. The second courthouse was a two story brick structure designed by O L Kinney of Chicago built in 1864 at a cost of $45,000. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1911 to 1913 at a cost of $170,000.



County Courthouse – Tuscola









Photos taken 2008